Hunt ’17 Receives National Wrestling Hall of Fame Award for Excellence

On May 3, the National Wrestling Hall of Fame recognized Naomi Hunt ’17 as the recipient of the Massachusetts State Chapter Award for the Tricia Saunders High School Excellence Award. First presented in 2014, the TSHSEA is named for Tricia Saunders, a four-time World Champion and women’s wrestling pioneer. Saunders was the first woman to be inducted as a distinguished member of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2006 and was inducted into the UWW Hall of Fame in 2011.

The state winners are evaluated and selected on the basis of three criteria: success and standout performances and sportsmanship in wrestling; review of GPA and class rank, academic honors and distinctions; and participation in activities that demonstrate commitment to character and community. The Hall of Fame accepts nominations for the High School Excellence awards, and a committee, with input from Hall of Fame state chapters, selects state and regional winners.

“Each year we are pleased to honor these remarkable student-athletes, who are inspirational role models because of their excellence on the wrestling mat, in the classroom and in their communities,” said Executive Director Lee Roy Smith. “We take great pride in our high school excellence honorees and enjoy following their careers as they continue to be positive influences.”

Hunt is one of twenty six recipients this year across the nation. Congratulations Naomi!

Please click here to read more from the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Information courtesy of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame